Primary tabs

The Florida Department of Health (FDOH) was established by the Florida Legislature in 1996. Florida Health is the brand name of the Florida Department of Health. Facilities for the 67 Community Health Departments (CHDs) are provided through partnerships with local county governments. These 67 CHDs have a total of 255 sites throughout the state, providing a variety of services.

FDOH is accountable to the state legislature, the Executive Office of the Governor, all residents and visitors in the state, and the federal government. FDOH is responsive to priorities identified by the Governor and the legislature in determining services, associated funding, and delivery mechanisms. Annually, the state legislature passes a budget, approved by the Governor, and creates or amends laws that direct FDOH’s actions.

Florida Department of Health (FDOH) - Florida Health